Best of Orienteering

Poll: Orienteering Achievement of 2009

  • » The best achievement of the year is to be named - and not necessarily the best orienteer of 2009.
  • » It is not necessarily the gold medalists who have done the greatest orienteering achievements.
  • » Note that only individual orienteers can be nominated - not a group of orienteers, a team or similar.

2009 has been another year full of great orienteering achievements - and as we now are moving towards 2010, it is again time to decide the greatest of achievements of the year. The annual poll to find the biggest Orienteering Achievements of the year is organized by two of the major sources for international orienteering news on the Internet - World of O and Ultimate Orienteering.

In the vote for "The Orienteering Achievement of 2009", the best achievement of the year is to be named - and not necessarily the best orienteer of 2009.


A full sponsor presentation will be given on November 24th. We have the following sponsors who will provide prizes for lucky voters and for the winners of "The Orienteering Achievement of 2009":
  • Main sponsor: Trimtex
  • OOcup
  • Highlands Open
  • Nordvestgaloppen 2009


Starting November 25th, nominees will be presented on a a day-by-day basis at World of O and Ultimate Orienteering. The winner is decided in a vote amongst all the readers of World of O and Ultimate Orienteering after all nominees have been presented between Monday November 30th and Friday December 4th. The winners will be announced December 8th. The following categories are included in The Orienteering Achievement of 2009:
  • The Orienteering Achievement of 2009 - Men
  • The Orienteering Achievement of 2009 - Women

Prizes for "Lucky voters"

Prizes will be drawn among the voters:
  1. A person can only vote once in each of the categories (if several people share one internet connection, only one can vote, as the IP address is used to identify the voter along with the email-address of the voter).
  2. Prizes from our sponsors will be drawn among all people voting.
  3. The winners will be made public after the poll closes at World of O and Ultimate Orienteering.

Spread the news

Help making the poll as representative for the international orienteering community as possible! Spread the news about the poll, by publishing an article about the election on your website, and encourage people participating. Please use this link: Of all websites with on average more than 50 visitors/day who link to the poll after it has been opened for voting, five websites will be drawn who will get a free "Sponsored Link" at either World of O or Ultimate Orienteering. Websites with on average more than 200 visitors/day will count triple when linking to the poll. Send an email to with the sites address if you want to be part of this draw for free sponsored links. Sponsored links may be to any orienteering related page or product - must necessarily by the website drawn. This list of sites spreading the news about the poll will be updated as I get notified about them: These images may be used when writing about the poll:

Orienteering Achievement of 2008

The winners from the Orienteering Achievement of 2008 were Daniel Hubmann and Minna Kauppi. Help decide who will win "The Orienteering Achievement of 2009".

This poll is made in a cooperation between World of O and Ultimate Orienteering. (C) 2008-2009 World of O/Ultimate Orienteering