Best of Orienteering

Poll: Orienteering Achievement of 2010

  • » The best achievement of the year is to be named - and not necessarily the best orienteer of 2010.
  • » It is not necessarily the gold medalists who have done the greatest orienteering achievements.
  • » Note that only individual orienteers can be nominated - not a group of orienteers, a team or similar.

2010 has been another year full of great orienteering achievements - and as we now are moving towards 2011, it is again time to decide the greatest of achievements of the year. The annual poll to find the biggest Orienteering Achievements of the year is organized by two of the major sources for international orienteering news on the Internet - World of O and Ultimate Orienteering.

In the vote for "The Orienteering Achievement of 2010", the best achievement of the year is to be named - and not necessarily the best orienteer of 2010.


On November 30th, all nominees will be presented at World of O and Ultimate Orienteering. The winner is decided in a vote amongst all the readers of World of O and Ultimate Orienteering between Tuesday November 30th and Monday December 6th. The winners will be announced December 9th. The following categories are included in The Orienteering Achievement of 2010: See information about the prizes below the pictures of the nominees.

Prizes for "Lucky voters"

Prizes will be drawn among the voters:
  1. A person can only vote once in each of the categories (if several people share one internet connection, only one can vote, as the IP address is used to identify the voter along with the email-address of the voter).
  2. Prizes from our sponsors will be drawn among all people voting.
  3. The winners will be made public after the poll closes at World of O and Ultimate Orienteering.

Spread the news

Help making the poll as representative for the international orienteering community as possible! Spread the news about the poll, by publishing an article about the election on your website, and encourage people participating. Please use this link: Of all websites with on average more than 50 visitors/day who link to the poll after it has been opened for voting, five websites will be drawn who will get a free "Sponsored Link" at either World of O or Ultimate Orienteering. Websites with on average more than 200 visitors/day will count triple when linking to the poll. Send an email to with the sites address if you want to be part of this draw for free sponsored links. Sponsored links may be to any orienteering related page or product - must necessarily by the website drawn. This list of sites spreading the news about the poll will be updated as I get notified about them: These images may be used when writing about the poll:

Orienteering Achievement of 2009

The winners from the Orienteering Achievement of 2009 ere Daniel Hubmann and Simone Niggli. Help decide who will win "The Orienteering Achievement of 2010".


A full sponsor presentation will be given on November 29th. We have the following sponsors who will provide prizes for lucky voters and for the winners of "The Orienteering Achievement of 2010":
  • Main sponsor: Trimtex
  • OOcup 2011
  • Midnattsolgaloppen 2011
  • Kopaonik Open 2011
  • Portugal O-meeting 2011

This poll is made in a cooperation between World of O and Ultimate Orienteering. (C) 2008-2010 World of O/Ultimate Orienteering